Bankruptcy Overview

New Bankruptcy Laws

New Chapter 7 Bankruptcy Laws

Attorney Walter Metzen, Detroit Bankruptcy Attorney

In October of 2005, the bankruptcy laws in the United States underwent some changes. These alterations to the existing laws have caused some bankruptcy attorneys to panic and decide that it is virtually impossible for their clients to file for bankruptcy any longer. I say differently. I am bankruptcy attorney Walter Metzen and I have been practicing law in the area of bankruptcy for over 14 years. I have helped thousands of individuals file for debt relief in the state of Michigan.

The new bankruptcy laws mainly have an affect on issues concerning increased paperwork and filing requirements for lawyers. Correspondingly, the cost of filing for bankruptcy increased due to the rise in the amount of work each attorney does to file the bankruptcy effectively. I devote the time and attention to each client and case in order to ensure that we file right the first time. Clients still have to go to court once on a Chapter 7 filing and twice on a Chapter 13.

Many people are worried that they will not be able to file Chapter 7 under the new law due to new income restrictions. Fortunately, the new law does not affect as many people as first thought. While some people may be forced to file Chapter 13, most will still be able to seek protection under Chapter 7.

Another change to the law dictates that it is now mandatory for a client to work with a credit counselor. For your convenience, this can be done in my office over the phone. The charge for this service is included in my fees.

Contact me, bankruptcy attorney Walter Metzen, to learn more about how the new Chapter 7 bankruptcy law may affect your case. I offer a free initial consultation so we can discuss your case personally.

We are a Debt Relief Agency helping people file for bankruptcy relief under the Bankruptcy Code. Let us help you decide if bankruptcy is right for you.

Bankruptcy attorney Walter Metzen represents clients throughout Southeast Michigan, including the communities of Detroit, Southfield, Warren, Roseville, Farmington Hills, Ann Arbor, Belleville, Canton, Clinton Township, Dearborn, Dearborn Heights, Hamtramck, Highland Park, Holland, Howell, Lincoln Park, Livonia, Macomb, Northville, Plymouth, Port Huron, Redford, Rochester, Saginaw, Southfield, Sterling Heights, Taylor, Trenton, Troy, Westland, Wyandotte, Ypsilanti, Mount Clemens, Howell, Oakland County, Macomb County, Wayne County, Washtenaw County, Livingston County, and all of the surrounding areas.